Hurry up…and WAIT…

Hey…..

Ever since starting this journey, I have been able to step back in my own life and observe situations.  What I mean by that is, I have been able to appreciate MY life and the things that I have.  I guess you can say that I have become more appreciative about the little things and also trying not to take things for granted. I have been so fortunate to have a husband that has done 90% of the laundry ever since I was pregnant (Lucas just turned 5), prior to surgery I took it for granted and expected it to be done. I look back at that and think how rude and disrespectful.  I think that is human nature to take things for granted.  I think that its also human nature to take life for granted. I make it a point to thank him for doing the laundry and for making dinner and all of the other things he does to make my life easier.short quotes about life

Once you have either been through a medical crisis yourself or have been with a friend/family member during their medical crisis, it is pretty normal to take life for granted. Luckily for me, I have been around the medical field my whole life as my mom is a nurse and I followed in her footsteps and work in the medical field.  I found my place in oncology, especially in breast cancer. Some belong in trauma, some in hospice, I belong in oncology. I want to be a bright ray of sunshine for patients that come in for their treatments and help them through their journey.  They are going to be going through the journey anyway so,  I may as well be my smart ass self that cracks jokes (obviously at the right time, not in a disrespectful way) and talk about my life and family. I love gaining relationships and talking with people and learning about their lives. I have met some of the most amazing people and have heard their stories of how they ended up on their journey. I enjoy developing  meaningful relationships with my patients and talk to them like they are my friend not like a disease!

There have been so many tragic events that have happened locally that just break my heart.  A local young boy was involved in a tragic accident at home that took his life.  I just can’t imagine what his parents are going through.  When I heard of this awful news I told myself to NOT be annoyed when my boys want to play when I am exhausted from a long day at work, NOT be annoyed when they are laughing and playing together very loudly, NOT to get mad when they leave a mess around the house, NOT be frustrated when Lucas wants to cuddle when I am trying to do homework.  These times in my life are going to fly by and I can guarantee you  that the young boys family wishes that he would annoy them and bug them and leave a mess in the house.  I pray for the family/friends that the hurt isn’t unbearable for too long.  The community in Stanwood is amazing.  To you #3 of Stanwood Youth Football, you are one loved little boy.

I had an appointment with Dr. Scott (plastic surgeon) last week and he was quite impressed with the way my body is healing.  Originally, he told me that the expander placement surgery would only take 1 hour  but, after examining the mastectomy flap he decided that 2 hours would be a better estimate in time.  There is a large amount of scarring and it may take a little more time to get things in the correct place but I will wake up with “breast mounds”!!  I have to say, I am kinda excited to have boobs again.  My whole goal with having the preventative nipple sparing, skin sparing bilateral mastectomy was to have minimal amount of scarring. Well, that didn’t go as planned, I am going to have more scarring.  Looking at the positive side, I DON’T have cancer and I DON’T have to wear underwire bras anymore. I am so happy that Dr. Scott waited to see how my body was going to heal because my mentality was HURRY up and get this over with. Glad I wasn’t in charge of the decisions:)th259EM3GA

To wrap things up, I just want to say, it is human nature, especially now a days with the amount of instant gratification we have because of technology to HURRY up.  Take your time, enjoy the days you have, don’t wish things would “hurry up.”  Try to take in something positive in every situation even in the worst of the worst situations.  I have noticed people HURRY up and WAIT.  Why are people in such a hurry? The people that are in such a hurry end up at the same place at the same time as the people that did stop to smell the flowers.  Life is not a race, enjoy what you have and appreciate what and who you get to share your life with.  Tomorrow is not guaranteed.

Until more…my pre-op appointment is on March 7 for surgery on March 22! I’m coming for you boobs!

L-Rachel

Leave a Reply

